Words on a Page

Leave a comment

March 1, 2017 by thewashingteenian

By Isabella Hendershot, Staff Reporter

From cover to cover, front to back, page to page, word for word. I believe the words I am reading are more than just words on the page in front of me.

To me the words in the books I’m reading make me feel like I’m not alone. They make me feel like someone is with me. The words that I read take me somewhere else, away from reality, to somewhere I can be a someone else, feel like I have someone else with me.

When my best friend moved, I wanted to be in one of the stories that I love to read. I believed that reading those words from page to page, that mean so much more to me than just a book in my hand or on a screen, was the only thing that could keep me sane on that day.

My reading takes me somewhere else and I am one of the few people who don’t just see words on a page or screen but I see them as a different life, an adventure, a new journey that I’m on.

I remember that day so clearly. It was the 1st or 2nd day back to school after Halloween and for the past two days she wasn’t in school. I was a worried, i thought that something was wrong, I then remembered that she also told me she might be moving soon but that it would probably be in the middle of the year. But that day I was crushed.

Book History Tell Narrative Fairy Tales Dream

Image via Max Pixel.

I knew that if she did move it would crush me. So when I went to the library for lunch and one of her other friends told me she moved I didn’t know what to do. It felt like everything stopped, I couldn’t breath, I couldn’t think straight, but the one thought I remember so clearly that was going through my head was “how could this be happening to me right now? I just saw her 2 days ago and now she’s gone.”

After having my moment of shock, I distracted myself with my reading, trying to forget at least until classes were over because I knew if I didn’t I would have a breakdown in the middle of school and I didn’t think I would be able to handle that, then continued on with the my classes for the rest of the day.

In class if I didn’t work I was reading just so I wouldn’t have a break down. Reading was the thing that I needed that day I found out she was gone because whenever I read I’m somewhere else, I am living in someone else’s shoes, even if it is one of the many great fiction stories that I have read.

Now that I think back to that day I think the book that I would have wanted to be a part of the most was a story I read the previous year. The book was called Entwined. I think that book fit my situation more than any other book I can remember reading because Azalea, the main character, thought it was unfair that her mother died. She thought it was unfair her mother was taken away from her just like how I thought it was unfair that my best friend was taken away from me. Azalea also had her way of coping with it by dancing just as I have my way by reading.

I could relate to Azalea because we both wanted to be somewhere else,

to be in a fairy tale where we could have no worries and do the things we loved most because it was the one thing that would keep us sane in one of our most heartbreaking situations that we have experienced.

The words on the page of the books I read are much more than that. Those words helped me when I needed to get away from everything and when I needed to feel like someone is there for me. I hope you can see them as more than just meaningless words because to me they are more than just words on a page.

Leave a Reply

